Menu Close

Biomedical Telematics Laboratory (LTB)

Technology for respiratory health researchers

The mandate of the Biomedical Telematics Laboratory (LTB) is to promote the use of telematics and develop specialized computer applications to support the research projects of the research axes and members of the RSR. Located at CHUS research center, the LTB offers constant logistical support to train research staff, maintain equipment and facilitate communications and visibility of the Network. In this regard, the LTB designs, hosts and updates the Network's website. In addition, the LTB analyzes and generates computer support budgets for projects proposed by respiratory health researchers who apply to the various external funding agencies of the FRQS.

The team

The LTB Director is Dr. Eric Rousseau. Eric Rousseau is an associate professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of the Université de Sherbrooke since 1988. He directs his laboratory "The Bilarium", which specializes in cell electrophysiology, biochemistry and pharmacology of new generation eicosanoids. He is interested in the study of the mechanisms of regulation of the ionic channels of the membranes of the smooth muscles of the respiratory tracts. His team is piloting two human tissue projects: BroncHUS and AsthmUS. He has been managing the LTB since its inception in 1995.

Yvan Fortier is IT Coordinator at the LTB.
Mr. Fortier holds a Bachelor's degree in Information Management and Systems from Université de Sherbrooke. Since 2000, M Fortier has participated and supervised the creation of several computer applications. He is also webmaster for the Network's website.

Ms. Mina Dligui is an analyst-programmer at the LTB.
Mina Dligui holds a Bachelor's degree in Computer Science from the Université de Sherbrooke. Since 2008, Ms. Dligui has worked on application programming for several research projects, including critical respiratory care, pulmonary infection and COPD.

Achievements

The LongVentKids Study is an international point prevalence study conducted in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU). The purpose of the LongventKids study is to reveal and describe the prevalence of demographic background and care provided to patients with prolonged mechanical ventilation (PMV) in PICUs. The study involves 269 centers in 42 countries and measures several data on patients included. Patients are 18 years of age or younger and are under mechanical ventilation for more than 6 hours per day, based on invasive ventilation and NIV, on the day of the study. For more details on the LongVentKids study, please visit https://longventkids.ca.

CAPP is a pilot project that aims to better understand how the pessary works in the prevention of prematurity. It will inform public authorities in decision-making on the use of pessary for the purpose of prolonging pregnancy and improving the health of newborns. capp.crc.chus.qc.ca

Col-debout is a project of Dr. Jean-Charles Pasquier, obstetrician-gynecologist at the CHUS, which aims to detect the risk of prematurity by measuring the angle of the cervix upright. Col-debout brings together centers in Canada and Europe such as the Sherbrooke CHUS, the Laval University Hospital, the Montreal Jewish General Hospital and the University Hospitals of Geneva (Switzerland) and Toulouse (France). www.coldebout.ca

RESP is a database containing information on adult patients with asthma or COPD, treated in the pneumology clinics of the HSCM and CHUS. To be included and invited to be part of the database, patients must be 18 years of age or older and have a diagnosis of asthma or COPD confirmed by an HSCM or CHUS respirologist. RESP is a project under the supervision of Dr. Lucie Blais of the HSCM.

The main objective of the ARIA research project is to build a clinical database of adults suffering from severe asthma treated at the CIUSSS external respiratory clinic of Estrie-CHUS. The project is led by Dr. Pierre Larivée, pulmologist and professor at the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences of the Université de Sherbrooke.

The RSR Biobank uses a computer application called BTRSR. This allows the pooling of samples while maintaining the uniqueness of each participating center. This method of operation proposes a virtual bank composed of the information related to the samples which are pooled on a central server while the samples are kept in each of the centers. This allows researchers to benefit from the full reach of a network of banks operating in common according to established criteria and to increase the possibility of obtaining fewer samples in certain fields of research thanks to the participation of several centers.  http://biobanque.ca

The main objective of PARDIE is to better understand the implications of the new definition of pediatric ARDS from the new Pediatric Acute Pulmonary Trauma Conference (PALICC) on the incidence and epidemiology of pediatric ARDS. PARDIE has 169 centers in the United States, Canada and the rest of the world.

The ERTB project aims to set up a biobank of equine respiratory tissues. The project is under the supervision of Dr. Jean-Pierre Lavoie, a veterinarian and professor at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine at the Université de Montréal. ERTB brings together 6 centers in Canada and the United States. http://www.btre.ca

Assess iNo is a multicenter, prospective and observational study of diversity in iNO practice models in neonatal and pediatric intensive care units in Canada. Assess iNo is under the supervision of Dr. Philippe Jouvet, Intensivist at CHU Ste-Justine in Montreal.

INOX. Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) is a major health problem in Canada. Among Canadians aged 55 and over, the prevalence rate is about 6%. Approximately 750,000 Canadians suffer from the disease. COPD is the fourth leading cause of death for men aged 65 years and over and seventh for women aged 65 and over. Continuous oxygen therapy is one of the few components of COPD management that improves survival. The clinical benefits of nocturnal oxygen therapy have not yet been confirmed. The study "International Nocturnal Oxygen" (INOX) will try to answer this question.

CanCOLD is a prospective, multi-center, cohort study conducted across Canada dedicated to understanding and managing Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) to reduce its impact. This cohort, which will track a population of COPD patients over time, is the first of its kind in Canada and is expected to end in 2023. The LTB participates in the CanCOLD study by creating the computer application that will support the collection of information. www.cancold.ca

PICFlu is a multicenter study on the genetic epidemiology of patients with Influenza in pediatric intensive care units of the PALISI network. Influenza A and B viruses are responsible each year for the deaths of hundreds of thousands of people around the world and cause billions of dollars in costs. Elderly people, children, and some people with special health conditions such as asthma or immune deficiency, are at high risk of a complication due to the Influenza virus.

Pangea is an international prospective study of point prevalence with follow-up of findings to investigate the epidemiology of critical acute neurological disease in children. It involves more than 84 centers in 14 countries. 

The PALIVE 1 project is an epidemiological study in pediatric intensive care, including the practice of mechanical ventilation on intubated children suffering from acute respiratory problems (Acute Lung Injury, ALI) and Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS). The study was conducted on subjects under 18 years of age from Canada, the United States and Europe. PALIVE 1 is a web application that allows you to enter a dozen online forms, the management of information by center and a randomization module of topics.

TB-ERA3 is a randomized study on the efficacy of a 4-month treatment with Rifampin versus 9 months Inh for the treatment of latent tuberculosis: phase3. The project involves 18 centers spread over 5 continents. In Canada and most industrialized countries, the incidence of tuberculosis dropped dramatically from the early 1900s to the late 1970s, but since then there has been a decline in the decline and tuberculosis is still a major cause of tuberculosis. morbidity and mortality in at-risk populations.

Menu Close

Le Laboratoire de télématique biomédicale

La technologie au service des chercheurs en santé respiratoire

Le mandat du laboratoire de télématique biomédicale (LTB) est de promouvoir l’utilisation de la télématique et de développer des applications informatiques spécialisées pour appuyer les projets de recherche des axes de recherche et des membres du RSR. Situé au Centre de Recherche du CHUS, le LTB offre un support logistique constant pour former les personnels de recherche, assurer le maintient des équipements et faciliter les communications et la visibilité du Réseau. À ce chapitre, c’est le LTB qui conçoit, héberge et met à jour le site Web du Réseau. De plus, le LTB fait l’analyse et génère les devis de support informatique pour les projets proposés par les chercheurs en santé respiratoire qui appliquent aux différentes agences subventionnaires externes au FRQS.

L'équipe

Le Directeur du LTB est le Dr Éric Rousseau. Éric Rousseau est professeur titulaire à la Faculté de Médecine et des Sciences de la Santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke depuis 1988. Il dirige son laboratoire « Le Bilarium », qui est spécialisé en électrophysiologie cellulaire, biochimie et pharmacologie des eïcosanoïds de nouvelle génération. Il s’intéresse à l’étude des mécanismes de régulation des canaux ioniques des membranes des muscles lisses des voies respiratoires. Son équipe pilote deux projets sur les tissus humains : BroncHUS et AsthmUS.  Il dirige le LTB depuis sa création en 1995.

M Yvan Fortier est coordonnateur informatique au LTB.
M Fortier est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en gestion de l’information et des systèmes de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Depuis 2000, M Fortier a participé et supervisé la création de plusieurs applications informatiques. Il est de plus webmestre pour le site web du Réseau.

Mme Mina Dligui est analyste-programmeure au LTB.
Mina Dligui est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en informatique de gestion de l’Université de Sherbrooke. Depuis 2008, Mme Dligui a travaillé sur la programmation d’applications pour plusieurs projets de recherche, notamment en soins critiques respiratoires, en infection pulmonaire et en MPOC.

Réalisations

CAPP est un projet pilote qui vise à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement du pessaire dans la prévention de la prématurité. Il éclairera les pouvoirs publics dans la prise de décision sur l’utilisation du pessaire dans le but de prolonger la grossesse et améliorer la santé des nouveau-nés. capp.crc.chus.qc.ca

Col-debout est un projet du Dr Jean-Charles Pasquier, obstétricien-gynécologue au CHUS, qui vise à détecter les risques de prématurité par la mesure de l’angle du col de l’utérus en position debout. Col-debout réuni des centres du Canada et d’Europe tel le CHUS de Sherbrooke, le CHU de Laval, l’Hôpital général juif de Montréal et les hôpitaux universitaires de Genève (Suisse) et de Toulouse (France). www.coldebout.ca

RESP est une banque de données contenant des informations sur des patients adultes souffrant d’asthme ou de MPOC, traités dans les cliniques de pneumologie de l’ HSCM et du CHUS. Pour être inclus et invités à faire partie de la banque de données, les patients doivent être âgés de 18 ans et plus et avoir un diagnostic d’asthme ou de MPOC confirmé par un pneumologue de l’HSCM ou du CHUS. RESP est un projet sous la supervision de Dre Lucie Blais de l’HSCM.

Le projet de recherche ARIA a pour objectif principal de construire une banque de données cliniques chez des adultes souffrant d’asthme sévère traités à la clinique externe de pneumologie du CIUSSS de l’Estrie-CHUS. Le projet est piloté par Dr Pierre Larivée, pneumologue et professeur titulaire à la Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé de l’Université de Sherbrooke.

La Biobanque du RSR utilise une application informatique nommée BTRSR. Celle-ci permet la mise en commun de prélèvements tout en conservant l’unicité de chacun des centres participants. Cette méthode de fonctionnement propose une banque virtuelle composée des informations reliées aux prélèvements qui sont mises en commun sur un serveur central tandis que les prélèvements sont conservés dans chacun des centres. Cela permet aux chercheurs de bénéficier de toute la portée d’un réseau de banques fonctionnant en commun selon des critères établis et d’augmenter la possibilité d’obtenir des prélèvements plus rares dans certains champs de recherche grâce à la participation de plusieurs centres.  http://biobanque.ca

Le principal objectif de PARDIE est de mieux comprendre les implications de la nouvelle définition de la SDRA pédiatrique de la nouvelle Conférence pédiatrique de consensus sur les traumatismes pulmonaires aigus (PALICC) sur l’incidence et l’épidémiologie de la SDRA pédiatrique. PARDIE regroupe 169 centres aux États-Unis, au Canada et dans le reste du monde.

Le projet BTRE vise à mettre en place une biobanque de tissus respiratoires équins. Le projet est sous la supervision du Dr Jean-Pierre Lavoie, vétérinaire et professeur titulaire à la faculté de médecine vétérinaire de l’Université de Montréal. BTRE regroupe 6 centres du Canada et des États-Unis. http://www.btre.ca

Assess iNo est une étude multicentrique, prospective et observationelle sur la diversité dans les modèles de pratique de l’iNO dans les unités de soins intensifs néonatals et pédiatriques au Canada. Assess iNo est sous la supervision du Dr Philippe Jouvet, intensiviste au CHU Ste-Justine de Montréal.

INOX. La maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) représente un problème majeur de santé au Canada. Parmi les Canadiens âgés de 55 ans et plus, le taux de prévalence de la maladie est d’environ 6%. Environ 750 000 Canadiens souffrent de la maladie. La MPOC constitue la quatrième cause de mortalité chez les hommes âgés de 65 ans et plus et la septième chez les femmes âgées de 65 ans et plus. L’oxygénothérapie continue est l’une des rares composantes de la gestion de la MPOC qui améliore la survie. Les avantages cliniques de l’oxygénothérapie nocturne n’ont pas encore été confirmés. L’étude « International Nocturnal Oxygen » (INOX) tentera de répondre à cette question.

CanCOLD est une étude de cohorte prospective, multi-centrique, conduite à travers le Canada et dédiée à une compréhension et une meilleure gestion de la Maladie Pulmonaire Obstructive Chronique (MPOC) pour en réduire les impacts. Cette cohorte, qui suivra une population de patients MPOC dans le temps, est la première du genre au Canada et devrait se terminer en 2023. Le LTB participe à l’étude CanCOLD par la création de l’application informatique qui supportera la collecte d’information. www.cancold.ca

PICFlu est une étude multicentrique sur l’épidémilogie génétique de patients atteints d’Influenza dans les unités de soins intensifs pédiatriques du réseau PALISI. Les virus de l’Influenza A et B sont responsables à chaque année de la mort de centaines de miliers de personnes à travers le monde et sont la cause de coûts qui se chiffrent en milliards de dollars. Les personnes agées, les enfants et certaines personnes avec des conditions de santé particulières comme l’asthme ou une déficience du système immunitaire, constituent une population à haut risque d’une complication due au virus de l’Influenza.

Pangea est une étude prospective internationale sur la prévalence ponctuelle avec un suivi des résultats pour enquêter sur l’épidémiologie de la maladie neurologique aiguë critique chez les enfants. Elle implique plus de 84 centres dans 14 pays. 

Le projet PALIVE 1 est une étude épidémiologique en soins intensifs pédiatriques, notamment sur la pratique de ventilation mécanique sur des enfants intubés souffrant de problèmes respiratoires aigus (Acute Lung Injury, ALI) et de syndrome de détresse respiratoire aigu (Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome, ARDS). L’étude à été menée sur des sujets de moins de 18 ans provenant du Canada, des États-Unis et d’Europe. PALIVE 1 est une application web qui permet la saisie d’une douzaine de formulaires en ligne, la gestion des informations par centre et un module de randomisation des sujets.

TB-ERA3 est une étude randomisée sur l’efficacité d’un traitement de 4 mois au Rifampin versus 9 mois Inh pour le traitement de la Tuberculose latente: phase3. Le projet implique 18 centres répartis sur 5 continents. Au Canada et dans la plupart des pays industrialisés, l’incidence de la tuberculose a chuté dramatiquement au début des années 1900 jusqu’à la fin des années 70, mais depuis on note un ralentissement du déclin et la tuberculose constitue encore une cause importante de morbidité et de mortalité dans les populations à risque.