Menu Close

CTS-QRHN joint webinar

Joint accredited webinar of the Canadian Thoracic Society and of the Quebec respiratory health network (QRHN) on asthma research and update on asthma guidelines.

The webinar was held on October 8, 2021 from 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Speakers

Dre Andréanne Côté, Respirologist, MD, FRCPC
Quebec Heart and Lung institute, Laval University, Quebec, QC

Dr. Andréanne Côté is a pulmonary intensivist at the Quebec Heart and Lung Institute since 2018. She completed additional training at the University of Calgary in Alberta and a master's degree in clinical epidemiology at Laval University. She is a member of the Asthma Committee of the Canadian Thoracic Society. She also conducts research on asthma, particularly on the study of biomarkers for optimization of asthma treatment. She collaborated on the CTS Severe Asthma Position and the CHEST Cough Practice Guidelines.

Dre Connie Yang, Respirologist, MSc, MD, FRCPC, FAAP
Clinical Associate Professor, Director of the Asthma Clinic, Training Program Director, Division of Respiratory Medecine, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, BC

Dr. Connie Yang is a pediatric respirologist at BC Children’s Hospital in Vancouver where she is the director of the Pediatric Asthma Program. She is currently the co-chair of the CTS Asthma Assembly Steering Committee and led the development of the latest CTS Asthma Guideline on the Management of Very Mild and Mild Asthma. She is also the president of the Respiratory Health section of the Canadian Pediatric Society where she helps disseminate unified information on pediatric respiratory health topics.

Moderators

Dr Mathieu Morissette, PhD
Associate Professor, Departement of Medecine, Laval University, Quebec Heart and Lung Institute, Quebec, QC

Dr Mathieu Morissette is an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at Université Laval and a researcher at the Quebec Heart and Lung Institute - UL in the Respiratory Health axis. He is the director of the Obstructive Lung Diseases and Remodeling axis at the Quebec Respiratory Health Network. His main research focuses are on the biology of lung damage and smoking as well as the pathobiology of COPD and emphysema. He also pursues research on the biology of vaping, trying to understand how this new habit affects the lungs and how it can interact with other environmental and microbial exposures to affect pulmonary health.

Dr Larry Lands, MD, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics, McGill University
Director, Pediatric Respiratory Medicine, McGill University Health Centre, Montreal, QC

Dr. Larry Lands is Director, Pediatric Respiratory Medicine and Director of the Pediatric Cystic Fibrosis (CF) Clinic at the McGill University Health Centre, an attending staff physician in the Quebec Lung Transplant Clinic, Centre Hospitalier d’Université de Montréal, and the respiratory consultant to the Pediatric Clinic and Adult and Pediatric CF Clinic, Centre Hospitalier de Rouyn-Noranda. He is a tenured Full Professor of Pediatrics at McGill University. He is Chair of the Canadian Thoracic Society Research Committee, Chair of CF Canada’s Research Advisory Council, and Co-chair of the protocol review subcommittee of CFCanACT. He chairs the Canadian Lung Association’s Studentship and Fellowship competitions and serves as a member of the Canadian Lung Association’s RENASCENT training program committee. His primary research interests are in inflammation and infection and functional capacity in patients with chronic lung disease, with a particular focus on CF and severe asthma.

Learning objectives

  1. Acknowledge the changes in the assessment of asthmatic patients
  2. Review and comprehend the most recent changes in the CTS guidelines for the care of very mild to mild asthmatic patients
  3. Review the process of moving from evidence to recommendations
  4. Discuss gaps in current evidence for the management of very mild to mild asthma

This session is co-developed by the Canadian Thoracic Society and the Quebec Respiratory Health Research Network and is planned to achieve scientific integrity, objectivity and balance.

This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program (MOC) of The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and approved by the Canadian Thoracic Society. You may claim a maximum of 1.5 hour.

Statistics about participation

97 people attended this webinar

Membership of participants

Menu Close

Webinaire conjoint SCT-RSRQ

Webinaire accrédité conjoint de la Société canadienne de thoracologie et du Réseau en santé respiratoire du Québec (RSRQ) sur la recherche sur l’asthme et mise à jour des directives sur l’asthme.

Le webinaire s’est tenu le 8 octobre 2021 de 16h00 à 17h30

Conférencières

Dre Andréanne Côté, Pneumologue, MD, FRCPC
Institut de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec (ICPQ), Université Laval, Québec, QC

Dre Andréanne Côté est une pneumologue intensiviste à l’Institut Universitaire de Cardiologie et de Pneumologie de Québec depuis 2018. Elle a effectué sa formation complémentaire à l’université de Calgary en Alberta ainsi qu’une maîtrise en épidémiologie clinique à l’université Laval. Elle est membre du comité de l’asthme de la société Canadienne de Thoracologie. Elle fait également de la recherche sur l’asthme, plus particulièrement sur l’étude des biomarqueurs dans l’optimisation du traitement de la maladie. Elle a notamment travaillé sur la position du CTS concernant l’asthme sévère et sur les guides de pratique de la toux du CHEST.

Dre Connie Yang, Pneumologue, MSc, MD, FRCPC, FAAP
Professeur associé clinique, Directeur de la clinique de l’asthme, Directeur du programme de formation, Division de la médecine respiratoire, Université de la Colombie Britannique, Vancouver, BC

Dre Connie Yang est pneumologue pédiatrique au BC Children’s Hospital à Vancouver, où elle est directrice du Pediatric Asthma Program. Elle est actuellement coprésidente du comité directeur de l’Assemblée sur l’asthme de la SCT et a dirigé l’élaboration de la dernière ligne directrice de la SCT sur l’asthme sur la gestion de l’asthme très léger et léger. Elle est également présidente de la section Santé respiratoire de la Société canadienne de pédiatrie où elle aide à diffuser des informations unifiées sur des sujets liés à la santé respiratoire pédiatrique.

Modérateurs

Dr Mathieu Morissette, PhD
Professor associé, Département de médecine, Université Laval, Institut de cardiologie et de pneumologie de Québec, Québec, QC

Le Dr Mathieu Morissette est professeur agrégé au Département de médecine de l’Université Laval et chercheur à l’Institut de cardiologie et de pneumologie du Québec – UL dans l’axe Santé respiratoire. Il est directeur de l’axe Maladies obstructives et remodelage du Réseau en santé respiratoire du Québec. Ses principaux intérêts de recherche portent sur la biologie des lésions pulmonaires et du tabagisme ainsi que sur la biopathologie de la MPOC et de l’emphysème. Il poursuit également des recherches sur la biologie du vapotage, essayant de comprendre comment cette nouvelle habitude affecte les poumons et comment elle peut interagir avec d’autres expositions environnementales et microbiennes pour affecter la santé pulmonaire.

Dr Larry Lands, MD, PhD
Professeur de Pédiatrie, Université McGill
Directeur de Médecine respiratoire pédiatrique, Centre universitaire de santé McGill, Montréal, QC

Le Dr Larry Lands est directeur, Médecine respiratoire pédiatrique et directeur de la Clinique pédiatrique de fibrose kystique (FK) du Centre universitaire de santé McGill, médecin traitant à la Clinique de transplantation pulmonaire du Québec, Centre hospitalier d’Université de Montréal, et consultant à la Clinique pédiatrique et à la Clinique adulte et pédiatrique de FK, Centre Hospitalier de Rouyn-Noranda. Il est professeur titulaire de pédiatrie à l’Université McGill. Il est président du comité de recherche de la Société canadienne de thoracologie, président du conseil consultatif de recherche de FK Canada et coprésident du sous-comité d’examen des protocoles de CFCanACT. Il préside les concours de bourses d’études de l’Association pulmonaire du Canada et est membre du comité du programme de formation RENASCENT de l’Association pulmonaire du Canada. Ses principaux intérêts de recherche portent sur l’inflammation et l’infection et la capacité fonctionnelle chez les patients atteints de maladie pulmonaire chronique, avec un accent particulier sur la mucoviscidose et l’asthme sévère.

Objectifs d'apprentissage

  1. Reconnaître les changements dans l’évaluation des patients asthmatiques
  2. Examiner et comprendre les changements les plus récents dans les directives de la SCT pour le traitement des patients asthmatiques très légers à légers
  3. Examiner le processus permettant de passer des preuves aux recommandations
  4. Discuter des lacunes dans les données actuelles sur la prise en charge de l’asthme très léger à léger

Cette séance a été co-développée par la Société canadienne de thoracologie et le Réseau de recherche en Santé Respiratoire du Québec et conçue pour assurer l’équilibre, l’intégrité et l’objectivité scientifiques.

Cet événement est une Activité de formation collective agréée (Section 1) en vertu du Programme de maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada; il est approuvé par la Société canadienne de thoracologie. Les participants peuvent réclamer au maximum 1.5 heure.

Statistiques de participation

97 personnes ont assisté à ce webinaire

Appartenance des participants